Gladness

June 2, 2016 § 2 Comments

On a windless, clouded afternoon at the end of May,
I go for another wander in the scrub.
I’m greeted at the entrance by one of my favourite native birds,
the kookaburra:

Its laughter echoes through the scrub for the first ten minutes of my walk.
Then comes magpie song:

A kangaroo regards me intently from afar.

The only bush in flower is one whose name I don’t know.
Its flowers grow in tiny, white clusters and smell sweet and rich, like honey.

It’s quiet in the scrub,
and I, too, am quietly gladdened for my time there.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Gladness

Leave a Reply

