Stop and smell the roses

November 9, 2015 § 8 Comments

Native plants and vegetation are my passion.
(We all know that.)
So you won’t be surprised when I say I haven’t always been the hugest fan of roses.
They’re not native to Australia.
Sometimes they seem overblown to me, and showy — blowsy, even.
DSCN2325
But once a year, the rose bushes outside my local library put on quite a show.
DSCN2324
Somehow, these roses please even my curmudgeonly spirit.
DSCN2329
They are, simply, quite lovely.
DSCN2323

They bring joy, not just into my day …
DSCN2326

but into my very soul.

DSCN2328

I think I’m slowly joining the rose-lover’s world …

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Stop and smell the roses

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Stop and smell the roses at twenty-one words.

meta

