Random but connected

Random. The word interests me. As I get older, I no longer try to find meaning in order so much as draw meaning from randomness. I feel this strongly: things are both random and connected, all the time. Lenoard Woolf used to say ‘nothing matters’ by which he meant ‘everything matters’. All of it. The lot.

from ‘Staying with the Trouble’
by Sophie Cunningham
(winner of the 2015 Calibre Prize)

As I grow older, I become more enamoured with non-fiction as a form of literature.

Sophie Cunningham’s essay, ‘Staying with the Trouble’, is a wonderful example. It meanders from the topic of walks that she’s taken in New York, to the lives (and possible extinction) of horseshoe crabs, to the nature of randomness, to the non-verbal language of the Incas, to the meaning of the ‘space between’, to the philosophy of feminist theorist Donna Haraway.

It is factual, yet moving. It poses more questions than it answers.

That’s the kind of non-fiction writing I love.

Published by

Rebecca

I'm a nature-loving, tea-drinking blogger and writer, and I've had two novels for young adults published. You can find me at twentyonewordsblog.wordpress.com and www.rebeccaburton.com.

Leave a Reply

