Hope …

July 9, 2015 § 5 Comments

Recently, I found two feathers on the beach.
I recognised them instantly
as belonging to New Holland honeyeaters,
small birds that are common to Adelaide gardens (though not to the beach!).

New Holland honeyeaters are slender, slightly scruffy little birds —
and my heart always lightens when they’re around.
They make a high, noisy, busy, endless, peeping racket
that fills me with hope.
*
I don’t know how the feathers ended up on the sand.
But it seemed to me symbolic.

Hope is the thing with feathers, right?

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Hope …

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hope … at twenty-one words.

meta

