The blog tour award

May 4, 2015 § 5 Comments

Eliza at My Own Paradise has invited me to join the Blog Tour Award.
Thank you, Eliza! I am honoured to participate.

(NB Regular readers will know that I usually impose a specific word-limit to my blog-posts, but for this post — for obvious reasons — I’m ignoring that word-limit.)

blog tour award 2015

Eliza has proposed a one-time date of either Monday 27 April or Monday 4 May for her chosen bloggers to participate. I’ve chosen Monday 4 May for my post.

The rules of the Blog Tour Award are:

1. Pass the tour on to up to four other bloggers.
2. Give them the rules and a specific Monday to post.
3. Answer four questions about your creative process that lets other bloggers and visitors know what inspires you to do what you do.

The questions are:

1. WHAT I’M I WORKING ON AT THE MOMENT?
2. HOW DOES MY WORK DIFFER FROM OTHERS IN MY GENRE?
3. WHY DO I WRITE OR CREATE WHAT I DO?
4. HOW DOES MY WRITING/CREATIVE PROCESS WORK?

So …

The bloggers I’ve chosen are:

Catherine at Leaf and Twig, who takes beautiful photos of nature and whose blog posts induce a wonderful sense of calm and awe whenever I read them.

Helen at OrchidNotes, whose blog focuses on the world of native orchids in South Australia.

Sally at Sally Heinrich, fellow writer and wonderfully talented artist and children’s book illustrator.

The date I propose is Monday 11 May or Monday 18 May. (Please feel free to vary this date if you need to.)

And here are my own responses …

1. WHAT I’M I WORKING ON AT THE MOMENT?
I’m a published writer of books for young adults, and I’ve just completed my third manuscript, a story about a girl who is haunted by the ghost of her mother and by the sea. While I’m waiting to see whether my agent can place this manuscript, I’ve begun work on a novel for adults. This is a new genre for me, and I’m enjoying learning and testing new skills. At this stage, all I can say is, it’s about a girl with a love/hate relationship with … ABBA!

2. HOW DOES MY WORK DIFFER FROM OTHERS IN MY GENRE?

That depends. In my published writing, I write slowly and try to treasure the process rather than the result, which means that I’m not as productive as many of my peers! With my blog, I aim always for a sense of discipline in my work, and I place constraints on myself and my posts to ensure this. (For example, for the first year of my blog, I limited all my posts to a word-length of twenty-one words or less.) I guess I try to work to the tried-but-true rule of thumb: Less is more.

3. WHY DO I WRITE OR CREATE WHAT I DO?

I write because I love to shape words and to use the word-shaping process to make sense of my world. As far as blogging goes, I came to it late, but I have loved my introduction into the blogging world. We live in an increasingly noisy, tech-centred environment — at least, that’s the case for those of us in the first world who can afford to do so — but I try to keep my own life quiet and free from interruption. That means I’m not a part of the Twitter/Instagram/Facebook communities. Quietness is important to me. Blogging about the world around me, and the things that seem beautiful to me, however small, are a part of my ‘quietness’ process.

4. HOW DOES MY WRITING/CREATIVE PROCESS WORK?

As far as my book-writing process goes, it’s messy and painful and slow! I write notes, and go for walks, and mull over ideas, and discard most of those ideas, and start all over again.
For blogging, I try to keep my eyes open to the world around me. I explore, observe and relish. If I have a camera with me, I take photos and save them for a post later. If I don’t have my camera with me, I just enjoy the moment and let it go.
Most of all, I read and write, read and write, read and write.
And try to keep quiet.

Finally …

Thank you again, Eliza, for giving me the chance to participate in the Blog Tour.
And good luck to my chosen nominees. I hope you have fun with it, as I did!

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to The blog tour award

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The blog tour award at twenty-one words.

meta

