The balloon seller

April 16, 2015 § Leave a comment

Other people’s words about … loneliness

[Bhima] lowers her voice until she is whispering. ‘You see, I think [the balloon seller] could’ve helped me … face what was to come later in my own life. He had the secret, see? The secret of loneliness. How to live with it, how to wrap it around your body and still be able to make beautiful, colourful things …’

from The space between us
by Thrity Umgar*

In this novel, the balloon seller is a minor character: wise, but humble.
He makes loneliness beautiful.
That’s no mean feat.

*Note:
I realise that this is my second post in a row quoting from Umgar’s wonderful novel. I found the book in our local library recently, as I browsed the shelves. It stayed with me long after I finished reading it.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The balloon seller at twenty-one words.

meta

