Other people’s words – Part I

May 28, 2014 § 5 Comments

A poem I love:

[Original source: http://www.poemhunter.com/poem/the-watch-11/]

The Watch

I wakened on my hot, hard bed;
Upon the pillow lay my head;
Beneath the pillow I could hear
My little watch was ticking clear.
I thought the throbbing of it went
Like my continual discontent,
I thought it said in every tick:
I am so sick, so sick, so sick;
O death, come quick, come quick, come quick,
Come quick, come quick, come quick, come quick.

Frances Darwin Cornford

I love this poem –
its feverishness; its rhythm; its deceptive, despairing simplicity.

The best poetry, I think, is simple but true.

Note:
This is the first in a series of posts where I feature poems or quotes I love. It was Jane Brocket who first alerted me to Francis Darwin Cornford. She quoted another poem by Cornford on her blog.
(Oh, and in case you’re wondering – the quoted material itself doesn’t count towards my self-imposed quota of twenty-one words!)

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Other people’s words – Part I

  • Thos says:

    Wow! That is one helluva poem! Wish I’d known of it when I was teaching!

    • Rebecca says:

      It is, isn’t it? I love the way the poet repeats the same phrase over and over at the end, like a watch – which seems such a simple device, almost like a nursery rhyme, and yet which ends up leaving you feeling filled with (almost bludgeoned by) her own desperation and despair.

  • Jill says:

    Love this.

  • […] I love reading. I love words. Maybe you’d noticed? After all, reading and writing have been two of my core themes on this blog, right from the start. So. This year — my third year of blogging (yes, really! twenty-one words has been around for over two years now) — that will be my main focus. Other people’s words. […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Other people’s words – Part I at twenty-one words.

meta

